Picture
I remember sitting on the couch in the living room of my grandparent’s house in the late sixties and getting ready for another adventure with Marlin Perkins, the host of Mutual of Omaha’s Wild Kingdom.   What makes this memory even more heart-warming is that it was shared (every Sunday) with my Grandfather, who was also a huge fan show.  We would sit,  side-by-side after the family dinner and watch, as Marlin Perkins went off on  another adventure in the wilds of Africa or some other far off land. 

I recently watched some episodes of this amazing show, which is now available on DVD,   and must say, it still holds up after all of these  years.  The program has been updated (the latest in a trend to recapture those glory days) and was aired on the Animal Planet network. I applaud the efforts to have more programs like this available, as it is very important we understand our role in the conservation and preservation of our environment. Unfortunately as with most imitators,  it is a far cry from the original program.  Wild Kingdom was truly a pioneer in the nature/wildlife genre, which today, has evolved to include countless imitators.   But for me, Wild Kingdom will always be number one, where memories, so long ago, on lazy Sunday evenings, my granddad and I would explore the wilds, with a man named Marlin.

Click the link below for more memries...Enjoy
Mutal of Omana's Wild Kingdom Opening Credits





Leave a Reply.