Picture
Boy, would I enjoy a cookie right now!  But not just any cookie.  If I could, I would visit my local convenience store and pick up several boxes of Nabisco’s Chocolate Snap cookies, but sadly I cannot since Nabisco no longer makes them gem.   In my youth I recall the many trips I made to our neighborhood store and spending one dollar, which would yield me four little boxes of cookies.   I usually got that number because inevitably I would have to share with the rest of my clan, which included 3 sisters and 4 brothers.

As I look back after all these years it is with great fondness as they were being shared with my siblings during a place and time that would never come again. 


When I discovered that the cookies where no longer available I was saddened, but also strangely relieved.  Because as much as those golden memories have brought a smile to my face, I have discovered those times are frozen in the past and that IF the cookies were made today, they would not be the SAME, and I would be disappointed.  Memories, especially fond memories from our past are to remind us of a simpler time (in our lives), a time that we should cherish and build on, but a time that cannot be repeated. 


So, I salute those days gone by, those days of Chocolate Snaps and boyhood memories.  May they live on in my heart and mind forever?




Leave a Reply.